Summary of the Life Cycle

Erikson s cycle of life is summarized hi Table 9.1. Each of the eight stages is characterized by a psychosexual mode as well as a psychosocial crisis. The psychosocial crisis is stimulated by a conflict between the predominating syntonic element and its antithetical dystonic element. From this conflict emerges a basic strength, or ego quality. Each basic strength has an underlying antipathy that becomes the core pathology of that stage. Humans have an ever-increasing radius of significant relations, beginning with the maternal person hi infancy and ending with an identification with all humanity during old age.

Personality always develops during a particular historical period and within a given society. Nevertheless, Erikson believed that the eight developmental stages transcend chronology and geography and are appropriate to nearly all cultures, past or present.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Effective Planning And Pursuits

Effective Planning And Pursuits

Surefire Ways To Master Doing Moe In A Year Than You Could In 10! This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To Getting Serious Results In Your Efforts To Plan Your Life! You'll get the most beneficial outcomes if your goals are in line with your personal moral values. However what are your personal moral values?

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment